Recent

% | $
Quotes you view appear here for quick access.

Sanofi Message Board

  • rvi45 rvi45 Nov 9, 2004 10:24 AM Flag

    Read all the good NEWS today 3

    (MORE) Dow Jones Newswires
    November 09, 2004 09:36 ET (14:36 GMT)- - 09 36 AM EST 11-09-04 =DJ Study: Sanofi-Aventis Drug Helps People Lose Weight -3-

    .
    The drug is designed to help blocks a chemical in the endocannabinoid system, a physiological system in the body that's believed to play a role in how the body regulates food intake, as well as tobacco dependence.
    Excessive food intake and tobacco use seem to result in an overactive endocannabinoid system.
    Pi-Sunyer explained that rimonabant is a new mechanism and targets a different system than weight loss drugs currently on the market.
    "The data are encouraging," he said.
    Another study showed that patients taking 20 milligrams of the drug had double the chance of quitting smoking without weight gain, compared to those in the placebo group.
    But because the drug blocks a chemical linked to weight-gain and smoking, researchers have also been concerned about whether the drug might have adverse effects such as an increase in depression.
    -By Jennifer Corbett Dooren, Dow Jones Newswires; 202-862-9294; jennifer.corbett@dowjones.com.

    (MORE) Dow Jones Newswires
    November 09, 2004 09:39 ET (14:39 GMT)- - 09 39 AM EST 11-09-04



    DJ Sanofi-Aventis Exec: FDA To Examine Weight-Loss Drug >SNY

    .
    NEW YORK (Dow Jones)--Sanofi-Aventis' (SNY) vice president said the Food and Drug Administration is "very interested" in examining data from a study of the company's new weight loss drug.
    Earlier Tuesday, Sanofi-Aventis released results from a two-year study showing that patients who took the drug rimonabant, which is also known by its trade name, Acomplia, lost more weight than those taking a placebo.
    The drug is designed to block certain chemicals in the body that are believed to be linked to both weight-gain and smoking.
    In a CNBC interview Tuesday, Sanofi-Aventis' Doug Greene said the trials so far have shown Acomplia to be safe and that it would not become another Phen-Phen, which was pulled from the market because it caused adverse side effects for users.
    The study was released at the American Heart Association's annual meeting.
    -By Alex Davidson, Dow Jones Newswires; 201-938-5394; alex.davidson@dowjones.com

    (END) Dow Jones Newswires
    November 09, 2004 10:12 ET (15:12 GMT)- - 10 12 AM EST 11-09-04

    SortNewest  |  Oldest  |  Most Replied Expand all replies
 
SNY
41.26+0.15(+0.36%)4:02 PMEDT