ACCA Hong Kong Committee 2013/2014 Elected

PR Newswire

HONG KONG, Sept. 30, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- ACCA (the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants) Hong Kong announces its newly elected Chairman, Vice Chairman and Committee members for the term 2013/2014.

Roy Tsang was elected Chairman of ACCA Hong Kong. Currently an audit partner of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu and a group partner of an audit group focussing on customer business and manufacturing business in Southern China of Deloitte, Tsang has experience in serving local and multinational clients in Hong Kong and Mainland China. He is an audit expert for multinational and listed companies in Hong Kong, covering a wide range of industries -- consumer businesses, manufacturing, and conglomerates. He has also been involved in a number of initial public offering exercises in Hong Kong and Singapore.

Tsang has been a committee member of ACCA Hong Kong since 2006. "I am very honoured to be elected as the Chairman of ACCA Hong Kong. ACCA recently published the findings of a survey covering 35 countries worldwide, which revealed that business leaders and employers of accounting professionals have endorsed ACCA as a global leader in its sector. Some 90% of employers recognised ACCA as a world class organisation; 93% of respondents recognised ACCA as a respected brand. The ACCA Qualification is well-recognised around the world. We have witnessed many members who have started their career in various parts of the world, reaching their desired goals on the strength of this 'international passport'," said Tsang.

"As the new term begins, I pledge to uphold the principles of service of the previous committees, and will strive to serve the industry, members and students while promoting ACCA's core values. At this time of challenge for the global economy, ACCA is committed to creating different professional communication platforms for our members, keeping them abreast of forward-looking trends and the latest market information, helping them to keep hold of the reins in their workplace," he added.

Fergus Wong, Tax Director at PricewaterhouseCoopers Hong Kong, was elected ACCA Hong Kong's Vice Chairman. Wong has been a committee member of ACCA Hong Kong since 2006, serving as the co-chairman of its tax sub-committee from 2006 to 2013; and is elected to ACCA Council in 2013.

Notes to Editors

1. ACCA (the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants) is the global body for professional accountants. We aim to offer business-relevant, first-choice qualifications to people of application, ability and ambition around the world who seek a rewarding career in accountancy, finance and management.

2. We support our 162,000 members and 428,000 students in 173 countries, helping them to develop successful careers in accounting and business, with the skills needed by employers. We work through a network of 89offices and centres and 8,500 Approved Employers worldwide, who provide high standards of employee learning and development.

3. As the first global accountancy body entering into China, ACCA now has over 23,000 members and 48,000 students, with 8 offices in Beijing, Shanghai, Chengdu, Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Shenyang, Hong Kong SAR, and Macau SAR.

4. Founded in 1904, ACCA has consistently held unique core values: opportunity, diversity, innovation, integrity and accountability. We believe that accounting professionals bring value to economies in all stages of development. We aim to develop capacity in the profession and encourage the adoption of global standards. Our values are aligned to the needs of employers in all sectors and we ensure that, through our qualifications, we prepare accountants for business. We seek to open up the profession to people of all backgrounds and remove artificial barriers, innovating our qualifications and their delivery to meet the diverse needs of trainee professionals and their employers.

ACCA Hong Kong Committee 2013/2014

Elected committee members

Roy Tsang (Chairman) | Fergus Wong (Vice Chairman) | Hidy Chan | Ivan Chan | Frankie Ho | Tracy Ho | Arthur Lee | Jeremy Ngai | Chris Tang | Teresa Tso |

Alice Yip | Davy Yun

Ex-officio members

Rosanna Choi | Leo Lee | Anthony Tyen | Fergus Wong


View Comments (0)