Bombardier Double-deck Coaches Boost Israel Railways' Fleet Modernisation Programme

- New order of 72 coaches brings the total number of new double-deck cars to 222 - Israel Railways to double the size of its double-deck fleet within three years - New vehicles answer strong demand for improved passenger comfort

Marketwired

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwire - Sep 26, 2012) - Israel Railways (ISR) is taking an important next step in its fleet modernisation programme by ordering an additional 72 double-deck coaches from rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation. This order is part of a framework agreement signed in October 2010, from which 150 coaches were ordered in 2010. Today''s order, valued at approximately 122 million euro ($158 million US), brings the total number of new double-deck cars for ISR to 222.

The new coaches are an improved version of the trains currently in operation. The first coaches of this improved model, ordered last year, entered passenger service on December 1, 2011. Bombardier manufactures and tests the coaches at its Görlitz plant in Germany before they are completed by Bombardier''s partner in Israel, the Dimona-based company Matar.

Bombardier''s commitment to the Israeli market and its proven and established production processes will enable it to deliver the newly ordered cars in a short timeframe. The deliveries will take place between March 2014 and February 2015.

"With each double-deck train capable of carrying approximately 900 passengers, these 222 new cars will significantly enhance passengers'' comfort," said Jean Bergé, Vice President Sales, Mainline and Metros, Bombardier Transportation. "More trains, more seats, more comfort and improved safety all add up to making modern mass transit in Israel more attractive and reliable."

Yossi Daskal, Chief Country Representative of Bombardier Transportation in Israel added: "The trust ISR has once again placed in Bombardier clearly reflects our valued customer''s confidence in our double-deck trains. We are extremely committed to bringing our expertise and our state-of-the art technology to Israel and we will support ISR in providing a reliable, high-capacity means of transport, ready to support future growth."

The Israeli public transportation market is growing rapidly. There is a clear demand for more trains at shorter intervals to make passengers'' journeys more comfortable. The new double-deck trains from Bombardier will help alleviate the overcrowding of current trains serving increasing numbers of passengers across the country. To further reduce the use of private cars, Israel is also developing Light Rail Vehicle (LRV) systems for several lines, including a pilot project in Jerusalem.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world''s only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011, we posted revenues of $18.3 billion USD. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/transportation/media-centre

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
 
Benelux, Middle East and North Africa: +49 30 98607 1141
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
 
Canada:+1 450 441 3007
Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com
 
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
 
France: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
 
Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
 
India: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
 
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
 
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
 
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
 
Southern Africa: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com
 
Southern Europe and South America: +35 1 919 693 728
Luis Ramos, luis.ramos@pt.transport.bombardier.com
 
UK and Ireland: +44 7785 450 065
Stephen Bethel, stephen.bethel@uk.transport.bombardier.com
 
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com
Contact:
Bombardier Transportation
www.theclimateisrightfortrains.com

View Comments (0)