Bombardier Wins Order to Supply 35 TALENT 2 Trains

Marketwired

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwire - Dec. 31, 2012) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation announced today that it will supply 35 BOMBARDIER TALENT 2 electric multiple units and a strategic spare part package to Abellio Rail NRW GmbH. The trains will operate on the Saale-Thuringia-South Harz network in Germany. The order is valued at approximately 172 million euro ($ 226 million US).

Bombardier will supply 20 three-car and 15 five-car TALENT 2 trains. The vehicles are due to enter service in December 2015.

The multiple units will be equipped with the reliable and energy efficient BOMBARDIER MITRAC 1000 propulsion and control system. One of the advantages of this system is that it allows the train to accelerate quickly to a constant speed. The vehicles can be adapted individually to the frequent acceleration and braking of commuter services as well as to the requirements of regional rail networks.

Bombardier develops and manufactures the TALENT 2 trains at its site in Hennigsdorf, Germany.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America indexes.

In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011, we posted revenues of $18.3 billion USD. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at: www.bombardier.com/en/transportation/media-centre.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, TALENT, MITRAC and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
 
Benelux, Middle East and North Africa: +49 30 98607 1141
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
 
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com
 
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
 
France: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
 
Germany, Austria, Switzerland,
Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
 
India: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
 
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
 
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
 
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
 
Southern Africa: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com
 
Southern Europe and South America: +35 1 919 693 728
Luis Ramos, luis.ramos@pt.transport.bombardier.com
 
UK and Ireland: +44 7785 450 065
Stephen Bethel, stephen.bethel@uk.transport.bombardier.com
 
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com
Contact:
Bombardier Transportation
www.theclimateisrightfortrains.com

View Comments (0)