23rd Annual NAACP Theatre Awards Announces Nominations

PR Newswire

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif., Oct. 1, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- The NAACP Beverly Hills/Hollywood Branch's Theatre Viewing Committee announces nominations for the 23rd Annual NAACP Theatre Awards. The awards include 32 categories, which encompass local and equity nominations. This year's awards show will be held on Monday, November 11, 2013, at 6:00 P.M. at the historical Saban Theatre in Beverly Hills, California, formerly known as the Fox Wilshire Theatre.  

This year's Equity Theatre nominations include an array of phenomenal productions including "Memphis", securing seven nominations counting Christopher Ashley in the category of "Best Director of a Musical – Equity".  Locking in second place with six nominations, Henry Miller leads an all-star cast in the provocative "Fraternity" whose cast includes Rocky Carroll and Roger Robinson both nominated in the category of "Best Leading Male – Equity" and Robert Gossett and Mel Winkler both nominated in the category of "Best Supporting Male – Equity".  "Intimate Apparel" and "The Scottsboro Boys" tie for third place in the Equity category both with five nominations.  For "Intimate Apparel" Tony-award nominee Sheldon Epps is nominated in the category of Best Director-Equity and for "The Scottsboro Boys" Susan Stroman receives a nomination in the category of Best Director of a Musical-Equity. In the category of  Local Theatre nominations "Anna Lucasta" by Best Playwright-Local nominee Phillip Yordan, takes the lead with 11 nominations including Ashlee Olivia as Best Lead Female-Local.  "In the Red & Brown Water" receives eight nominations including a Best Director-Local to Shirley Jo Finney and Best Supporting Female-Local to Iona Morris. The critically-acclaimed "Camp Logan" rounds out the local category with six nominations recognizing the producing team of Ben Guillory, Academy Award nominee Viola DavisJulius Tennon, Juvee Productions, Vanessa Paul, Alex Morris and Sparkling Entertainment.

The Theatre Viewing Committee considers all candidates who submit their production from January 2012 through December 2012 for possible nomination. All productions must have a five consecutive week production run in Southern California (San Diego to Bakersfield included) to be considered. Productions who meet all eligibility requirements before the deadline are considered eligible for a 2013 NAACP Theatre Award. For more information on the NAACP Theatre Awards or a full list of nominations, please visit www.naacptheatreawards.com or call the office at (323) 464-7616.

About The NAACP Theatre Awards:
The NAACP Theatre Awards is presented by the Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP Branch. Ron Hasson is Branch President and Tia Boyd is the Executive Producer for the NAACP Theatre Awards Show. The prestigious star-studded gala is produced for the purpose of honoring thespians among the best in the field of entertainment. The branch also celebrates a four-day theatre festival, which provides a platform for thespians to express their craft and share their contributions with an audience of their peers, the community and other individuals who celebrate live theatre in Los Angeles.

Awards Press Contact: Lisa Humphrey-Premier Concepts
Email: media@premierconceptspr.com
Phone: 310.605.5472


View Comments (0)