U.S. Markets closed

Aaron Judge, Giancarlo Stanton power their way to Silver Slugger award

Giancarlo Stanton led baseball in home runs in 2017. (AP Photo)

Turns out, the comparisons between New York Yankees rookie Aaron Judge and Miami Marlins outfielder Giancarlo Stanton were pretty apt. Both players were among those to power their way to a Silver Slugger award Thursday.

Judge and Stanton seemed like obvious choice. Both players led their respective league in home runs. It was Stanton’s second Silver Slugger. It was Judge’s first, obviously … and probably not his last.

He wasn’t the only player to take home some hardware for the first time. There were eight first-timers — including Judge — who won the award. Buster Posey and José Altuve represent the veterans on the list. Both won their fourth Silver Slugger awards.

Here’s a list of all 18 players to win the award in 2017:

Aaron Judge hit 52 home runs as a rookie. (AP Photo)

American League
• C – Gary Sánchez, New York Yankees, 1st Silver Slugger
• 1B – Eric Hosmer, Kansas City Royals, 1st Silver Slugger
• 2B – José Altuve, Houston Astros, 4th Silver Slugger
• SS – Francisco Lindor, Cleveland Indians, 1st Silver Slugger
• 3B – José Ramirez, Cleveland Indians, 1st Silver Slugger
• OF – Aaron Judge, New York Yankees, 1st Silver Slugger
• OF – Justin Upton, Los Angeles angels, 3rd Silver Slugger
• OF – George Springer, Houston Astros, 1st Silver Slugger
• DH – Nelson Cruz, Seattle Mariners, 2nd Silver Slugger

Charlie Blackmon was once again rewarded for his excellent offensive performance. (AP Photo/David Zalubowski)

National League
• C – Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants, 4th Silver Slugger
• 1B – Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks, 3rd Silver Slugger
• 2B – Daniel Murphy Washington Nationals, 2nd Silver Slugger
• SS – Corey Seager, Los Angeles Dodgers, 2nd Silver Slugger
• 3B – Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies, 3rd Silver Slugger
• OF – Charlie Blackmon, Colorado Rockies, 2nd Silver Slugger
• OF – Giancarlo Stanton, Miami Marlins, 2nd Silver Slugger
• OF – Marcell Ozuna, Miami Marlins, 2nd Silver Slugger
• P – Adam Wainwright, St. Louis Cardinals, 1st Silver Slugger

The Silver Slugger awards aim to highlight the best offensive players at each position. They are selected by managers and coaches around the league.

Both Judge and Stanton absolutely fit that bill. And while winning the Silver Slugger is quite the accomplishment, both will be looking for more soon. Judge seems like a lock to win the American League Rookie of the Year award, but was also named a finalist for AL MVP. Stanton was also named a finalist for MVP, and is part of an exceptionally crowded field, which features both Joey Votto and Paul Goldschmidt.

More MLB coverage from Yahoo Sports:

– – – – – – –

Chris Cwik is a writer for Big League Stew on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at christophercwik@yahoo.com or follow him on Twitter!