U.S. Markets closed

American Association for Access, Equity and Diversity Announces The 2019 Drum Major for Justice Award Honoree for its Annual Awards Ceremony

Indiana State Representative Gregory W. Porter will be honored for his extraordinary contributions to the cause of social justice and public service at the Association's 45th National Conference and Annual Meeting in Indianapolis, IN June 12th.

WASHINGTON, April 18, 2019 /PRNewswire-PRWeb/ -- The American Association for Access, Equity and Diversity (AAAED), an organization of equal opportunity, diversity and affirmative action professionals, announced that Indiana State Representative Gregory W. Porter will be the honoree of its Drum Major for Justice Award for 2019. The awards celebration will be held on Wednesday, June 12, 2019, during the AAAED's 45th National Conference and Annual Meeting. Themed Moving Beyond Diversity Towards Equity and Inclusion, the meeting will be held at the Hyatt Regency Indianapolis. The Hyatt is located at One South Capitol Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46204. The awards program is open to the press. "We are delighted to honor such an outstanding icon of social justice, diversity and equal opportunity," said Dr. Richard Anthony Baker, president of AAAED.

The Drum Major for Justice is the highest award the association confers. The Award is a special acknowledgement of the extraordinary contributions that an organization or individual, including a public servant or one who has held an elective office or appointment to public service, has made to the cause of access, equity and diversity. Previous recipients include Rev. Dr. CT Vivian (2018), Dr. Shirley A Jackson (2017), U.S. Rep. G. K. Butterfield (2016), and U.S. Representatives August F. Hawkins and Parren Mitchell (deceased) (2008).

The 2019 AAAED Drum Major for Justice Award Recipient is the Honorable Gregory W. Porter, State Representative, State of Indiana. Gregory W. Porter is a member of the 120th Indiana General Assembly. He is now serving his 13th term for the 96th House District in Indianapolis, Indiana. He is currently ranking minority member of the Indiana House Ways and Means Committee.

Based on his distinguished record of achievement over a period of twenty-five years in elected office, Mr. Porter was elected by his colleagues and peers across the nation to serve as President of the National Black Caucus of State Legislators (NBCSL), an organization that leads nearly seven hundred African American state legislators across forty-six states, the District of Columbia, and the U. S. Virgin Islands. NBCSL is designed to enhance the effectiveness of legislation that impacts, either directly or indirectly, the general welfare of African American constituents within their respective jurisdictions.

Mr. Porter also holds the position of Sr. Vice President of External Affairs for the Health and Hospital Corporation of Marion County. As Sr. Vice-President of External Affairs, Porter advises the president on strategies from communicating to and involving the community at large within the corporation's goals, facilitates relationships between the corporation and external stakeholders, and acts in the capacity of a community liaison.

As member of the Indiana General Assembly he and his legislative colleagues authored Resolution No. 56 that renames the section of Interstate Highway 65 from Seymour, Indiana to Johnson County the Tuskegee Airmen Highway. Mr. Porter has received numerous awards not limited to but including the 2018 Dr. Mozel Sanders Drum Major for Political and Social Justice, NAACP 2015 Pathfinder Award, Martin Center Distinguished Sickle Cell Champion Award, Indianapolis Urban League – 2015 Servant Leadership Legacy Award, Prevent Child Abuse of Indiana Leadership Award, and the Indiana Early Care Education Legislative Award. He also received the Black Caucus of State Legislators Award, plus an Eagle Award from the National Black Caucus of State Legislators.

The AAAED 45th National Conference and Annual Meeting is open to the press. For more information or to register for the Conference, go to: https://www.aaaed.org/aaaed/Conference_Agenda1.asp. To purchase a ticket to the awards ceremony or to sponsor a table, go to: https://www.aaaed.org/aaaed/Sponsorship.asp.

Founded in 1974 as the American Association for Affirmative Action (AAAA), AAAED is a national not-for-profit association of professionals working in the areas of equal opportunity, compliance and diversity. AAAED has 44 years of leadership in providing professional training to members, enabling them to be more successful and productive in their careers. It also promotes understanding and advocacy of affirmative action and other equal opportunity laws to enhance the tenets of access, inclusion and equality in employment, economic and educational opportunities.


SOURCE American Association for Access, Equity and Diversity (AAAED)