U.S. Markets closed
  • S&P 500

    -11.63 (-0.30%)
  • Dow 30

    -62.42 (-0.20%)
  • Nasdaq

    -83.07 (-0.72%)
  • Russell 2000

    +6.01 (+0.34%)
  • Crude Oil

    +0.24 (+0.22%)
  • Gold

    -0.80 (-0.04%)
  • Silver

    -0.00 (-0.01%)

    +0.0029 (+0.2753%)
  • 10-Yr Bond

    +0.0690 (+2.21%)
  • Vix

    -0.28 (-1.03%)

    -0.0002 (-0.0172%)

    +0.2320 (+0.1716%)

    -539.88 (-2.53%)
  • CMC Crypto 200

    -6.00 (-1.30%)
  • FTSE 100

    +49.51 (+0.69%)
  • Nikkei 225

    +379.30 (+1.43%)

Award winners announced for the 2nd Annual Impact Awards

·3 min read

Christine Welsh from the Halifax Regional Centre of Education wins 2022 Teacher of the Year

2022 Impact Awards

Compilation Photo of Award Winners
Compilation Photo of Award Winners

TORONTO, June 13, 2022 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- On June 7th, the 2nd Annual Impact Awards committee announced the winners for the 2021-2022 school year. The awards celebrate teachers for their dedication and their use of research-backed teaching methods in the classroom. 28 teachers won awards, and 9 received special recognition for their use of specific teaching methods in the classroom. Attendees of the ceremony selected the Teacher of the Year.

The Teacher of the Year is Christine Welsh from the Halifax Regional Centre of Education. She will receive over $600 in prizes that will help support her diligent work in the classroom and promote her well-being. The prize package includes a classroom supply kit, a teacher swag bag, and a year of aromatherapy and self-care gift boxes from Nature’s Wellness.

A panel of Knowledge Translation Experts (KTE) helped with the difficult task of identifying particular examples of outstanding work in the classroom. These leaders in the fields of math education and research review the work of teachers and highlight how the application of particular research methods shine through.

There are several teachers that won special distinction for their use of specific teaching methods:

  • Megan Winger for checking student understanding

  • Laura Cross for using student needs as a guide for learning

  • Stephanie O’Reilly for adjusting instruction based on student needs

  • Tammy MacLeod for collecting evidence of student improvement

  • Jessica Brajkovic for activating students as owners of their learning

  • Karen Hanson for embedding social emotional learning into everyday practice

Christine Welsh, Ashlee Hooghiem, and Rachel Cha also won distinctions from the KTE panel for their use of these strategies in their teaching. The complete list of the 28 award winners and their respective distinctions can be found below.

You can watch clips from the award show and the winners’ Impact Stories here:

Media Contact for the Impact Awards:

Chad Bewley
Director of Programs and Outreach
Chad.Bewley@knowledgehook.com, (416)995-0814

List of Winners:



Teacher of the Year and KTE Pick



Christine Welsh,


Halifax Regional Centre for Education




KTE Picks



Rachel Cha,


Niagara Catholic District School Board

Ashlee Hooghiem,


Thames Valley District School Board




Special Distinction



Tammy MacLeod,


Annapolis Valley Regional Centre for Education

Megan Winger,


Brant Haldimand Norfolk Catholic District School

Karen Hanson,


Calgary Catholic School District

Stephanie O'Reilly,


Grand Erie District School Board

Jessica Brajkovic,


Hamilton-Wentworth Catholic District School Board

Laura Cross,


Toronto Catholic District School Board




Impact Award Winners



Lyndsey Lobb,


Avon Maitland District School Board

Melinda Butler,


Chignecto-Central Regional Centre for Education

Patricia Agbaifoh,


Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board

Elizabeth Burke,


Durham District School Board

Lindsay Irwin,


Foothills School Division

Shaelynn Senyk,


Good Spirit School Division

Joe Benforte,


Greater Essex County District School Board

Michael Marchione,


Halton District School Board

Katie Wydeven,


Huron Perth Catholic District School Board

Ives Bolt,


Ottawa-Carleton District School Board

Hen Daniel,


Pembina Trails School Division

Kenna Nelson,


Regina Catholic School Division

Krystal Forster,


Regina Public Schools

Jessica Napier,


Simcoe County District School Board

Michelle Scarlett,


Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District School Board

Joy Ashford,


Strait Regional Centre for Education

Ashanty Sri,


Toronto District School Board

Tanya Poulopoulos,


Waterloo Catholic District School Board

Angela DiNardo,


York Catholic District School Board

A photo accompanying this announcement is available at https://www.globenewswire.com/NewsRoom/AttachmentNg/94c3446b-526d-48c4-af80-16d11aab7872