U.S. Markets closed

Bombardier Launches Construction of its New Bogie Technical Centre

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwire - Oct 30, 2012) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation today officially launched the construction of a new Bogie(1) Technical Centre in Siegen, Germany. Pierre Beaudoin, President and Chief Executive Officer, Bombardier Inc., and André Navarri, President and Chief Operating Officer, Bombardier Transportation, took part in laying the foundation stone at Bombardier''s Siegen bogie production site.

Local politicians and representatives of the universities of Siegen and Aachen, Germany, joined Bombardier employees involved in the project to celebrate this achievement. The new centre of excellence is due to begin operations by mid-2014. The site will bring together Bombardier''s engineering experts with the necessary tools and means to continue to develop and test the FLEXX bogie portfolio to better fulfill customer requirements, in particular in terms of strict certification and homologation processes.

Pierre Beaudoin said: "The Bogie Technical Centre is a significant investment for Bombardier. We are dedicated to our customers and the new Centre will give us the means to meet our customers'' needs now and in the future by expanding and further improving our FLEXX bogies portfolio."

André Navarri added: "Bogies are a core competence of Bombardier and play a crucial role in all our rail vehicles, from trams to very high speed trains. The Bogie Technical Centre will create the perfect environment for innovation, allowing Bombardier to test innovative ideas and strengthen its future competitiveness."

The Siegen site will form a unique production and innovation hub. It will comprise Bombardier Transportation''s bogies headquarters, the new Bogie Technical Centre, the existing final assembly area, Wheelset Centre and crash repair and overhaul centre.

(1) An undercarriage with four or six wheels pivoted beneath a railway vehicle

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world''s only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011, we posted revenues of $18.3 billion USD. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/transportation/media-centre.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, FLEXX and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
 
Benelux, Middle East and North Africa: +49 30 98607 1141
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
 
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com
 
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
 
France: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
 
Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
 
India: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
 
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
 
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
 
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
 
Southern Africa: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com
 
Southern Europe and South America: +35 1 919 693 728
Luis Ramos, luis.ramos@pt.transport.bombardier.com
 
UK and Ireland: +44 7785 450 065
Stephen Bethel, stephen.bethel@uk.transport.bombardier.com
 
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com