U.S. Markets closed

BYUtv Unveils "Super Week" Of Programming With Premieres Of New Shows

"Dinner Takes All," "Show Offs" and "Battle of the Ages" Join "Dwight in Shining Armor" - All Set to Debut Week of March 18

PASADENA, Calif., Feb. 13, 2019 /PRNewswire/ -- BYUtv, a family entertainment network available over cable, satellite and streaming, today announced the spring premiere dates of three new series – the family cooking competition show "Dinner Takes All," the half-hour musical improv comedy program "Show Offs" and the multi-generational family game show "Battle of the Ages." These shows, along with original scripted adventure comedy series "Dwight in Shining Armor," will all premiere the week of March 18. In addition, BYUtv will continue to air all-new episodes of viewer favorites such as "Studio C," "Relative Race" and "Random Acts."

(PRNewsfoto/BYUtv)

The "Super Week" programming, including premieres, is as follows:

Sunday, March 17

  • "Relative Race" at 9 p.m. ET/7 p.m. MT/6 p.m. PT

Monday, March 18

  • "Show Offs" at 8 p.m. ET/6 p.m. MT/5 p.m. PT (SERIES PREMIERE)
  • "Tricked" at 8:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. MT/5:30 p.m. PT
  • "Studio C" at 9 p.m. ET/7 p.m. MT/6 p.m. PT
  • "Dwight In Shining Armor" at 9:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. MT/6:30 p.m. PT (SERIES PREMIERE)
  • "Made Up" at 10 p.m. ET/8 p.m. MT/7 p.m. PT

Tuesday, March 19

  • "Random Acts" at 9 p.m. ET/7 p.m. MT/6 p.m. PT
  • "Kindness Diaries" at 9:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. MT/6:30 p.m. PT
  • "Welcome Home" at 10 p.m. ET/8 p.m. MT/7 p.m. PT
  • "Collar of Duty" at 10:30 p.m. ET/8:30 p.m. MT/7:30 p.m. PT

Wednesday, March 20

  • "Just Like Mom and Dad" at 8 p.m. ET/6 p.m. MT/5 p.m. PT
  • "Battle of the Ages" at 8:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. MT/5:30 p.m. PT (SERIES PREMIERE)
  • "Dinner Takes All" at 9 p.m. ET/7 p.m. MT/6 p.m. PT (SERIES PREMIERE)

"With the debut of these new series, we are creating a broad portfolio of new and original programming, both scripted and unscripted, that the entire family can watch together," said Michael Dunn, managing director of BYUtv. "Filmed in our BYUtv studios and around Utah in association with our phenomenal production partners, they are all great examples of the engaging, family content BYUtv offers. These new shows add even more variety to an already compelling line-up of existing programming, rounding out a true 'super week' of television."

"Dinner Takes All" is a family cooking competition show hosted by celebrity chef Kelsey Nixon (Food Network, Cooking Channel) in which two teams of five family members go head-to-head to cook their "best Sunday dinner." Each team uses family recipes to create an entrée, three side dishes and a dessert while simultaneously playing interactive food-centric games for bonus points. Winning families receive a $10,000 cash prize. "Dinner Takes All" is from Keller/Noll ("Chopped," "Chopped Junior") and BYUtv.

The hilarious, interactive musical improv series "Show Offs" gives its cast, along with a special celebrity guest, the chance to "show off" by performing a spontaneous improvised play or musical, prompted by random ideas from the studio audience and accompanied by a live band. Hosted by comedian Casey Jost ("Late Night with Jimmy Fallon"), its cast features executive producers and co-creators Maclain Nelson ("The Saratov Approach") and Jake Van Wagoner ("Impractical Jokers"), as well as Lisa Valentine Clark ("Random Acts") and Hailey Smith ("Once I Was a Beehive"). "Show Offs" is from Kaleidoscope Pictures ("Winter Thaw," "Instrument of War"), Good Guys Productions ("The Saratov Approach," "Once I Was a Beehive") and BYUtv.

The comedic game show "Battle of the Ages" pits two multi-generational family teams against each other in mental and physical challenges. With the opportunity to pick a competitor from the opposing team and test their knowledge on a specific era, this game show will get families talking and laughing while they learn more about each other. "Battle of the Ages" is from Bill's Market & Television Productions ("Ellen's Game of Games," "Fear Factor") and BYUtv.

These new shows join BYUtv's original programming slate, including the new scripted adventure comedy "Dwight in Shining Armor," in which the Middle Ages meets Middle America; the long-running sketch comedy series "Studio C," which touts over 1 billion views on YouTube; "Relative Race," the first family-history based competitive reality show that follows four teams as they meet relatives linked by DNA for the first time in a race throughout the United States; and "Random Acts," an unscripted hidden-camera reality show that highlights the altruistic nature of human beings by featuring real people who are the recipients of random acts of kindness. BYUtv is available across the country via cable, satellite and multiple digital media platforms.

For a complete listing of BYUtv's programming and to view full episodes, visit www.byutv.org.

About BYUtv
BYUtv provides families more than 1,700 hours of entertaining and compelling programming they can enjoy together. The network's content is trusted, contemporary and clean, yet clever and sophisticated enough to inspire children and parents alike. BYUtv's diverse portfolio of original, co-produced and acquired content includes scripted and unscripted dramas and comedies, 700+ hours of live HD collegiate sports, game shows, and holiday special made-for-tv movies, docudramas and concerts. BYUtv is available in 50 million homes in every state of the country on DISH Network, DirecTV and 146 other major cable systems. A digital pioneer, BYUtv was the first U.S. television network to stream all of its content live and unencrypted over the Internet. Today, BYUtv has over 1 million YouTube subscribers and 1 billion views and is available live and on-demand on multiple digital platforms free of charge, including Apple TV, YouTube, Roku, Amazon Fire, Chromecast, Xbox One, Windows Media, digital apps for iOS and Android, and BYUtv.org. Based in Provo, Utah, BYUtv is part of BYU Broadcasting, which is owned by Brigham Young University.

About Keller/Noll
Cleve Keller and Dave Noll began creating and producing television together exclusively in 2007. Globally, the duo has created, sold and produced over 2,000 episodes of television, including 270+ episodes in 2018 and 280+ episodes in 2019. Their credits include the new daytime syndicated series "Face the Truth" with CBS Television and Dr. Phil McGraw, starring Vivica A. Fox (170 episodes premiered last September); the new hit Game Show Network series "America Says," starring John Michael Higgins (160 episodes premiered last June); the iconic Food Network series "Chopped" (picked up through episode 500); "Chopped Junior" (nearly 100 episodes); the FOX syndicated series "Punchline" (20 episodes premiered in June 2017); GSN's "Winsanity" (80 episodes); HGTV's "Don't Sweat It" (118 episodes); Bravo's "Rocco's Dinner Party"; the BBC's "No Kitchen Required"; TLC's "Cover Shot"; and AMC's "Movies 101," among many others.

About Kaleidoscope Pictures
Kaleidoscope Pictures is a full-service production and creative entity. Founded in 2002 by Micah Merrill, Adam Anderegg and Russ Kendall to inspire positive change in people's lives through the artistic expression of hope, Kaleidoscope has produced entertainment and media from short form branded content to Emmy® award-winning film and television programing. Recent work includes the holiday film, "Winter Thaw," which the New York Times dubbed "best serious Christmas film of the year" and the award-winning music doc "Man in The Camo Jacket," which Billboard Magazine called "an inspiring film." Adam Anderegg and Russ Kendall are co-creators and executive producers of "Show Offs."

About Good Guys Productions
Maclain Nelson and Jake Van Wagoner are best friends and founders of Good Guys Productions. They met in an improv comedy group in 2004 and have been creating entertainment together ever since. Their past films include the highly successful "The Saratov Approach" and "Once I Was a Beehive." More recently, they created the holiday comedy "My Brother, the Time Traveler," in which they both starred alongside James Murray ("Impractical Jokers"). They are co-creators, executive producers and in the main cast of "Show Offs" – the first long-form, improv comedy show on television.

About Bill's Market & Television Productions
Bill's Market & Television Productions is a leading non-scripted television production company based in Los Angeles. Led by veteran reality producer David A. Hurwitz, Bill's Market & Television Productions is at the forefront of groundbreaking, high-stakes, entertaining television programming. Known for their ability to bring audiences to the edge of their seats through use of explosive scenes, cutting-edge interactive technology and compelling stories, BMTVP continues to develop and produce non-scripted content in the broadcast, cable and digital worlds. The latest additions to the company's growing portfolio include "Black Card Revoked" (BET) and "Ellen's Game Of Games" (NBC). Hurwitz's previous credits include exciting productions such as "Best Time Ever with Neil Patrick Harris" (NBC), "Fear Factor" (NBC), "American Gladiators" (NBC), the Emmy-nominated "BrainSurge" (Nickelodeon) and many others.

Cision

View original content to download multimedia:http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/byutv-unveils-super-week-of-programming-with-premieres-of-new-shows-300793907.html