U.S. Markets closed

Day Ahead - Top 3 Things to Watch

Investing.com - Here are the three things that could rock the markets tomorrow.

1. Dollar General, Kroger to Issue Results

Retail leads the way with the earnings reports ahead of the bell tomorrow, from the biggest of discounts to the swankiest of brands.

Dollar General (NYSE:DG) will report fiscal third-quarter earnings, with expectations for a profit of $1.38 per share on sales of about $6.9 billion, according to forecasts compiled by Investing.com.

Comparable sales are forecast to rise 3.2% for the period, up from a rise of 2.8% in same quarter a year ago, according to Briefing.com.

Supermarket chain Kroger (NYSE:KR) will issues numbers as well. Analysts a predicting a profit of 49 cents per share on sales of $28.15 billion.

Deutsche Bank (DE:DBKGn) upgraded the stock last month to hold from sell, saying it expects digital initiatives to gain traction.

Tiffany&Co (NYSE:TIF) will also report earnings tomorrow, but there will be little stock movement after the its deal to be acquired by LVMH for $135 per share, or about $16.2 billion.

2. Job Cuts, Claims Arrive Ahead of Payrolls

A couple more employment indicators arrive before the big U.S. nonfarm payrolls report on Friday.

Outplacement company Challenger, Gray&Christmas issues its job cuts report for November at 7:30 AM ET (12:30 GMT).

Challenger reported layoffs of 50,275 for October.

At 8:30 AM ET, the weekly initial jobless claims report arrives.

Economists predict that claims for first-time unemployment benefits ticked up to 215,000 from 213,000 the week before.

3. Factory Orders Also on Tap

Also on the economic calendar, the Commerce Department will issues numbers on factory orders for October at 10:00 AM ET (15:00 GMT).

Orders are expected to rebound with a rise of 0.3% for October from a drop of 0.6% the month before.

In addition, Federal Reserve Vice Chairman Randal Quarles will speak again at 10:00 AM ET.

Today Quarles told the House of Representatives Financial Services Committee that the Fed may have contributed to turmoil in the overnight lending markets.

Related Articles

UAW union leaders recommend approval of Fiat Chrysler labor deal

Stocks - Wall Street Rebounds on Trade Hopes, Energy Gains

Former UAW official pleads guilty to accepting kickbacks