U.S. Markets closed

Fargo season 4 cast announced: Ben Whishaw and Jessie Buckley join Chris Rock for new series

Jacob Stolworthy

The cast of Fargo season four has been set – and it’s as impressive as ever.

Noah Hawley’s FX anthology series will return in 2020 led by Chris Rock, who will be backed up by a crowded ensemble including Jason Schwartzman and British rising star Jessie Buckley.

Schwartzman, a regular in Wes Anderson’s films, will play Josto Fadda while Buckley – who most recently starred in Emmy-nominated drama Chernobyl – will play Oraetta Mayflower.

Bond star Ben Whishaw and Jack Huston, best known for Boardwalk Empire, will also star as major players in the series, which has been described as a story of “immigration and assimilation and the things we do for money”.

The fourth season will be set in 1950s Kansas City, Missouri and follows Rock’s boss of a criminal syndicate who, in order to make peace with another, trades his eldest son with that of his enemy.

However, when the rival syndicate leader dies, their truce is thrown into confusion.

Other new cast members include Salvatore Esposito (Gaetano Fadda), Andrew Bird (Thurman Smutney), Jeremie Harris (Leon Bittle), Gaetano Bruon (Constant Calamita), Anji White (Dibrell Smutney), Francesco Acquaroli (Ebal Violante), Emyri Crutchfield (Ethelrida Pearl Smutney), and Amber Midthunder (Swanee Capps).