U.S. Markets closed

Watch live: Jane Fonda, Sheryl Sandberg, Gloria Steinem talk gender equality

Lauren Tuck
News Editor

It’s 2018 and women still earn around 80 cents to every dollar a man makes, according to data from the Census Bureau. From pipeline issues (like encouraging girls to study science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) and hiring diverse entry-level employees) to lack of support for advancement once they actually get in the door, problems abound that keep women clawing at the glass ceiling.

Despite progress being slow — just listen to Jane Fonda and Lily Tomlin, who starred in 9 to 5 decades ago, about how much that film’s premise of fighting for gender equality in the workplace still rings true today — efforts across industries by activists, corporate leaders, and even supermodels are helping to bring about positive change.

At the 2018 MAKERS Conference on Tuesday, tune in to hear what Gloria Steinem, comedian Kumail Nanjiani and Big Sick co-writer and producer Emily V. Gordon, Karlie Kloss, Lena Waithe, Sheryl Sandberg, and other speakers have to say about how to advocate for equal pay, negotiate a raise, get into the C-suite, making tech and Hollywood more diverse, and so much more.

Follow along live from 12 p.m EST/9 a.m. PST to 9 p.m EST/6 p.m. PST — check out the full agenda here — and catch up on Monday’s panels too.

Follow us on InstagramFacebook, and Twitter for nonstop inspiration delivered fresh to your feed, every day.