U.S. Markets open in 9 hrs 8 mins

NASCAR results from Kansas: Kevin Harvick punches ticket to semifinal round of Chase

Harvick pulled away late at Kansas Speedway for his 35th career win and his fourth this season.

Kevin Harvick and Jimmie Johnson have been the most successful drivers at 1.5-mile tracks since 2014, so it's no surprise the former champions have now each punched their ticket to the Round of Eight in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup with victories in consecutive weeks at intermediate tracks. 

Last Sunday it was Johnson winning at Charlotte Motor Speedway; seven days later it was Harvick pulling away late at Kansas Speedway for his 35th career win and his fourth this season. 

"To be able to do that now for three years says a lot about the character of this team," Harvick told NBC Sports after the race. "There's going to be some bumps along the way, some obstacles. We just have the mindset of every race in the Chase to just go for it.”

Home-track favorite Carl Edwards finished second, followed by Joey Logano, Johnson and reigning Cup champion Kyle Busch. 

“That was hard fought. I am still breathing hard," Logano said. "We did what we had to do. We wanted to get a solid top-five and if we could win that is what we wanted."

Heading into the final race of the Round of 12 at the unpredictable Talladega Superspeedway before four drivers are eliminated from the Chase, Logano, Austin Dillon, Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski and Chase Elliott are in the biggest danger of not moving on. Hamlin, Keselowski and Elliott all had issues during the Hollywood Casino 400. 

Hamlin lost significant ground early in the race with a splitter issue from which he reportedly had tire damage. Keselowski sustained heavy damage to his car — and his championship hopes — after contact with Hamlin ruined his day after being strong for 189 laps. Elliott led four laps on the day but fell off the pace when a flat left rear tire forced him to pit under caution late in the race. 

Full results from the Hollywood Casino 400:

  1. Kevin Harvick
  2. Carl Edwards
  3. Joey Logano
  4. Jimmie Johnson
  5. Kyle Busch
  6. Austin Dillon
  7. Alex Bowman
  8. AJ Allmendinger
  9. Matt Kenseth
  10. Kasey Kahne
  11. Martin Truex Jr. 
  12. Ryan Newman
  13. Kurt Busch
  14. Ryan Blaney
  15. Denny Hamlin
  16. Tony Stewart
  17. Trevor Bayne
  18. Danica Patrick
  19. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 
  20. Paul Menard
  21. Chris Buescher
  22. Michael McDowell
  23. Casey Mears
  24. Matt DiBenedetto
  25. Greg Biffle
  26. Clint Bowyer
  27. Landon Cassill
  28. Brian Scott
  29. Regan Smith
  30. Kyle Larson
  31. Chase Elliott
  32. Michael Annett
  33. Cole Whitt
  34. Reed Sorenson
  35. Joey Gase
  36. David Ragan
  37. Jamie McMurray
  38. Brad Keselowski
  39. Josh Wise
  40. Aric Almirola