U.S. markets close in 4 hours 56 minutes

Nintendo Direct focusing on 'Animal Crossing: New Horizons' on February 20

Nintendo is to release a pre-recorded Nintendo Direct presentation focusing on community life game "Animal Crossing: New Horizons" one month before its Switch console release in March.


[Animal Crossing New Horizons Direct livestream: .be/woE240wJxnA]

A 25-minute official presentation about the well-anticipated March release "Animal Crossing: New Horizons" will be held on February 20 as the first Nintendo Direct specifically devoted to the title.

A start time of 6am PT and 9am ET equates to 2pm UK, 3pm Central Europe, 4pm South Africa, 7.30pm India, 10pm Singapore, Malaysia, Philippines, and Beijing in China, 11pm Korea, and 1am Sydney, Australia on February 21

"Animal Crossing: New Horizons" is the fifth core entry to a 19-year-old franchise, the first since Nintendo expanded the series' popularity through mobile edition "Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp", and the first released for Nintendo's current console platform, the Switch.

The console manufacturer and game developer has been supporting "Animal Crossing: New Horizons" with a special, limited edition Switch themed after the new release, which arrives on March 13, a week before the game releases on March 20.

Officially licensed controllers, decals, and other accessories and items are also in the works.

"Animal Crossing: New Horizons" could be Nintendo's biggest first-party release for the forseeable future.

Its Nintendo 3DS predecessor sold nearly 12.5 million copies worldwide between 2012 and the end of 2019.

For comparison, 3DS pairing "Pokémon X and Y" sold 16.4 million Nintendo 3DS copies between an October 2013 debut and the end of 2019.

On Switch, "Pokémon Sword and Shield" then went on to shift 16 million units between November 15 and December 31, 2019.

Like "Pokémon" and its 2016 mobile iteration "Pokémon Go", "Animal Crossing" also expanded its active audience through 2017's "Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp".

Nintendo has remained relatively quiet on its Holiday 2020 schedule so far, but is thought to have something in place to deal with the PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X console launches -- quite possibly its sequel to Switch launch day smash "The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild".