U.S. Markets close in 2 hrs 43 mins

Pagenaud resists Dixon for third IndyCar win of 2019 in Toronto

Dominik Wilde
Pagenaud resists Dixon for IndyCar Toronto win

Simon Pagenaud resisted a late charge from Scott Dixon to claim his third win of the 2019 IndyCar season in Toronto.

The Indianapolis 500 winner led from pole and was putting in a dominant display until the final round of pit stops when the resulting traffic from the cycle allowed fellow front-row starter Dixon to close in.

Dixon, racing with an arm injury, slashed a five second lead to half a second in less than 30 laps.

He had made better use of his push-to-pass in the traffic, leaving Pagenaud on the backfoot and conserving fuel in the closing stages of the race.

With 15 laps to go Dixon was within half a second of Pagenaud, but the Penske driver was able to maintain a gap of within a second as the laps wound down, despite still having to contend with lapped traffic.

Alexander Rossi finished a comfortable but distant third to complete the podium, repassing championship rival Josef Newgarden in the final round of pit stops by stopping a lap earlier.

Newgarden maintained fourth despite hitting a wall hard with four laps to go.

Felix Rosenqvist slipped slightly down the order from his third place grid position to finish fifth, ahead of James Hinchcliffe in sixth and Colton Herta in seventh, who impressed by making up nine positions during the race.

Pagenaud resists Dixon for IndyCar Toronto win

Sebastien Bourdais was eighth, ahead of Graham Rahal and Marco Andretti.

Will Power was set to finish ninth ahead of both Rahal and Andretti until he locked his brakes and ended up in the tyre wall at turn eight on the final lap of the race.

However, that Rahal, Andretti, and Power were even in contention for top-10 positions was impressive given a major incident they were involved with in the opening stages of the race.

Going into turn three on lap two, Power attempted to pass Rahal up the inside but sent the Rahal Letterman Lanigan driver spinning.

Rahal tagged Marco Andretti in the incident, causing him to spin as well, although he was able to continue.

Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marcus Ericsson, and Matheus Leist were also involved in the incident.

Despite that multi-car collision, there was only one retirement in the race when Takuma Sato's day ended with 18 laps to go after his Honda engine caught fire.

Sato had been running solidly in the top-five all day until that point.

Race result - 85 laps

Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap
1 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1h30m16.4388s -
2 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 1h30m16.5761s 0.1373s
3 Alexander Rossi Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1h30m20.8108s 4.3720s
4 Josef Newgarden Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1h30m35.1110s 18.6722s
5 Felix Rosenqvist Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 1h30m37.1820s 20.7432s
6 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 1h30m44.1098s 27.6710s
7 Colton Herta Harding Racing Dallara/Honda 1h30m49.0428s 32.6040s
8 Sebastien Bourdais Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 1h30m49.9803s 33.5415s
9 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 1h30m51.7992s 35.3604s
10 Marco Andretti Andretti Herta Dallara/Honda 1h31m01.8566s 45.4178s
11 Santino Ferrucci Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 1h31m09.9330s 53.4942s
12 Ed Jones Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1h30m17.3388s 1 Lap
13 Zach Veach Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1h30m18.6432s 1 Lap
14 Max Chilton Carlin Dallara/Chevrolet 1h30m19.3908s 1 Lap
15 Spencer Pigot Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1h30m32.6122s 1 Lap
16 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1h30m37.8585s 1 Lap
17 Tony Kanaan AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Chevrolet 1h30m38.8452s 1 Lap
18 Will Power Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1h28m36.1455s Contact
19 Matheus Leist AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Chevrolet 1h30m44.9078s 2 Laps
20 Marcus Ericsson Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 1h31m26.4753s 4 Laps
21 Sage Karam Carlin Dallara/Chevrolet 1h30m25.3677s 6 Laps
22 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 1h11m57.1482s Mechanical

Get unlimited access to the world’s best motorsport journalism with Autosport Plus