U.S. Markets close in 1 hr 25 mins

Palladium Hits New Record; Gold’s Gains Continue to Chip Away

By Barani Krishnan

Investing.com - Palladium returned to the top of the precious metals heap Tuesday, with the spot price of the auto-catalyst metal hitting record highs on renewed fears of a supply squeeze. Investors in gold, meanwhile, continued to chip away at the yellow metal’s gains.

Spot palladium was up $53.36, or 2.5%, at $2,185.63 per ounce at 3:00 PM ET (20:00 GMT). It earlier hit an all-time high of $2,193.

Palladium futures settled up $44.20, or 2.2%, at $2,123.30, after touching a record high of $2,126.55 earlier.

Palladium, the commodities star of 2019 with a 55% gain, is once again leading the pack, with a return of nearly 11% year to date.

An ingredient for cleaner emissions and better performance from gasoline-powered engines, palladium has been boosted again in the past two weeks by a supply squeeze in major producing countries South Africa and Russia.

“Palladium is the more interesting story again in precious metals while gold tries to find better support in the $1,500 area,” said George Gero, precious metals analyst at RBC Wealth Management in New York.

Gold futures for February delivery on New York’s COMEX settled down $6, or 0.4%, at $1,544.60 per ounce.

Spot gold, which tracks live trades in bullion, was down $1.61, or 0.1%, at $1,546.44 by 3:18 PM ET (20:18 GMT).

Gold started 2020 strongly, hitting near-seven-year highs above $1,600 an ounce on heightening tensions in the Middle East, before a stand-down in the U.S.-Iran conflict suddenly deprived the safe haven of its risk premium.

Related Articles

Oil Rebounds; U.S. Inventory Data Awaited After Loss of Risk Premium

Europe Turns Up the Heat on Iran in Bid to Save Nuclear Accord

Gold Falls Again as Funds Flow out of U.S. ETFs