U.S. Markets open in 8 hrs 21 mins

Pennsylvania Trauma Systems Foundation Trauma Center Accreditation Granted to One Additional Hospital in Pennsylvania

CAMP HILL, Pa., Oct. 1, 2019 /PRNewswire/ -- Trauma center accreditation status has been granted to one additional hospital in Pennsylvania starting November 1, 2019.

Level IV Trauma Center Accreditation:  St. Luke's University Health Network – St. Luke's Hospital Monroe Campus, Stroudsburg, PA

Effective November 1, 2019, this brings the total number of trauma centers in Pennsylvania to 41:

Combined Adult Level 1 /Pediatric Level I Trauma Centers

1. Hershey – PennState Health – Milton S. Hershey Medical Center/PennState Health Children's Hospital

Combined Adult Level 1/Pediatric Level II Trauma Centers

2. Allentown – Lehigh Valley Health Network – Lehigh Valley Hospital Cedar Crest/Lehigh Valley Health Network – Lehigh Valley Reilly Children's Hospital

3. Danville – Geisinger Medical Center/Geisinger Janet Weis Children's Hospital

Adult Level I Trauma Centers

4. Bethlehem – St. Luke's University Health Network – St. Luke's University Hospital Bethlehem

5. Johnstown – Conemaugh Memorial Medical Center – Conemaugh Health System

6. Philadelphia – Einstein Medical Center Philadelphia – Einstein Healthcare Network

7. PhiladelphiaTemple University Hospital

8. PhiladelphiaThomas Jefferson University Hospital – Jefferson Health

9. Philadelphia – Penn Medicine – Penn Presbyterian Medical Center

10. Pittsburgh – Allegheny Health Network – Allegheny General Hospital

11. PittsburghUniversity of Pittsburgh Medical Center – Mercy

12. PittsburghUniversity of Pittsburgh Medical Center – Presbyterian

13. West Reading – Reading Hospital – Tower Health

14. York – WellSpan York Hospital – WellSpan Health

Pediatric Level I Trauma Centers

15. Philadelphia – St. Christopher's Hospital for Children

16. Philadelphia – The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

17. PittsburghUniversity of Pittsburgh Medical Center – Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh

Adult Level II Trauma Centers

18. Abington – Abington Hospital – Jefferson Health

19. AltoonaUniversity of Pittsburgh Medical Center – Altoona

20. Camp Hill – Geisinger Holy Spirit

21. ErieUniversity of Pittsburgh Medical Center – Hamot

22. Lancaster – Penn Medicine Lancaster General Health – Lancaster General Hospital

23. Langhorne – St. Mary Medical Center – Trinity Health Mid-Atlantic

24. Monroeville –Allegheny Health Network – Forbes Hospital

25. Paoli – Paoli Hospital – Mainline Health

26. Philadelphia – Jefferson Torresdale Hospital – Jefferson Health

27. Sayre – Guthrie Robert Packer Hospital

28. Scranton – Geisinger Community Medical Center

29. Upland – Crozer-Chester Medical Center – Crozer-Keystone Health System

30. Wilkes-Barre – Geisinger Wyoming Valley Medical Center

31. Wilkes-Barre – Wilkes-Barre General Hospital – Commonwealth Health

32. Wynnewood – Lankenau Medical Center – Mainline Health

Level III Trauma Centers

33. East Stroudsburg – Lehigh Valley Health Network – Lehigh Valley Hospital Pocono

Level IV Trauma Centers

34. Coaldale – St. Luke's University Health Network – St. Luke's Hospital Miners Campus

35. Grove City – Grove City Medical Center

36. Hazleton – Lehigh Valley Health Network – Lehigh Valley Hospital Hazleton

37. Honesdale – Wayne Memorial Hospital

38. McConnellsburg – Fulton County Medical Center  

39. Quakertown – St. Luke's University Health Network – St. Luke's Hospital Quakertown Campus

40. Stroudsburg – St. Luke's University Health Network – St. Luke's Hospital Monroe Campus

41. Troy – Guthrie Troy Community Hospital

The Pennsylvania Trauma Systems Foundation (PTSF) is a non-profit corporation recognized by the Emergency Medical Services Act (Act 1985-45).  The PTSF is the organization responsible for accrediting trauma centers in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

Trauma centers are hospitals with resources immediately available to provide optimal care and reduce the likelihood of death or disability to injured patients.  Accredited trauma centers must be continuously prepared to treat the most serious life threatening and disabling injuries.  They are not intended to replace the traditional hospital and its emergency department for minor injuries.

In Pennsylvania, there are four levels of trauma centers. Level I trauma centers provide the highest degree of resources with a full spectrum of specialists and must have trauma research and surgical residency programs.  Level II trauma centers require the same high level of care but do not require research and residency programs and the following subspecialists: cardiac surgery, hand surgery, vascular re-implantation, oral/maxillofacial surgery, otorhinolaryngological surgery, neurology, physiatry and psychiatry. Level III trauma centers are smaller community hospitals that do not require neurosurgeons and focus on stabilizing severe trauma patients prior to transport to a higher-level trauma center.  They may admit patients with mild and moderate injuries.  Level IV trauma centers provide enhanced care to injured patients within the emergency department and focus on stabilization and quick transfer to a higher-level trauma center. They may admit mildly injured patients.

Each trauma center regardless of its level is an integral component of the emergency medical services (EMS) system.  The EMS system assures appropriate patient care management from the time of injury to treatment at a local hospital or trauma center through the rehabilitative phase of care.  Currently there are 40 trauma centers in Pennsylvania; as of November 1, 2019, there will be 41 trauma centers in Pennsylvania.

A comprehensive list of the Commonwealth's trauma centers is located at www.ptsf.org.



View original content:http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/pennsylvania-trauma-systems-foundation-trauma-center-accreditation-granted-to-one-additional-hospital-in-pennsylvania-300929078.html

SOURCE Pennsylvania Trauma Systems Foundation