U.S. Markets closed

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday, Oct 20

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday (times GMT):

SOCCER

Europa League

Rooney and Totti eye milestones

LONDON - Wayne Rooney will have the chance to match Ruud van Nistelrooy's record of 38 goals in Europe for Manchester United when they host Fenerbahce, while AS Roma veteran Francesco Totti is in line to play his 100th continental game for the club when they face Austria Vienna. (SOCCER-EUROPA/ expect by 1915 GMT/3:15 PM ET, by Toby Davis, 600 words)

Premier League

Hot Costa out to spoil Mourinho's Chelsea return

LONDON - Jose Mourinho will always have a place in the hearts of Chelsea's faithful but his former charges are hoping to make him suffer when he returns to Stamford Bridge as manager of Manchester United on Sunday. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PREVIEW), moved, by Martyn Herman, 400 words)

We bring you the latest team news ahead of this weekend's English top-flight fixtures. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-HOME TEAM/, expect throughout, 400 words)

MOTOR RACING

U.S. Formula One Grand Prix

Hamilton faces the media again after Snapchat spat

AUSTIN, Texas - Two weeks on from a Snapchat controversy, when he upset reporters in Japan with lots of snap and not much chat, triple F1 world champion Lewis Hamilton faces the media again at an official U.S. Grand Prix news conference. (MOTOR-F1-USA/, expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Alan Baldwin, 400 words)

We will also have stories from around the paddock.

CRICKET

England v Bangladesh, first test, Chittagong (to 24)

England bat first, Duckett debuts in Chittagong

England captain Alastair Cook won the toss and elected to bat in the first match of a two-test series against Bangladesh in Chittagong. (CRICKET-BANGLADESH/, expect throughout, 400 words)

India v England, 2nd ODI, Delhi

Red-hot India eye 2-0 lead against New Zealand

NEW DELHI - India would look to continue their winning run, having won the first one-day international after blanking the visiting New Zealand side 3-0 in the tests, in the second match at the Feroz Shah Kotla. (CRICKET-INDIA/ (PIX), expect by 1630 GMT/12:30 PM ET, 300 words)

Australia quick Starc fit and ready to take on South Africa

SYDNEY - Australia's pace spearhead Mitchell Starc is confident he will be fit to take on South Africa in next month's first test after declaring himself available for a domestic Sheffield Shield match on Thursday. (CRICKET-AUSTRALIA/STARC, moved, by Nick Mulvenney, 400 words)

GOLF

PGA Tour: CIMB Classic, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (to 23)

Thomas seeks repeat victory in Kuala Lumpur

KUALA LUMPUR - Justin Thomas returns to Malaysia to defend his CIMB Classic title at the second event of the 2017 PGA Tour season, the tournament co-sanctioned with the Asian Tour attracting a strong field of international players. (GOLF-PGA/, expect by 0900 GMT/5 AM ET, 300 words)

European Tour: Portugal Masters, Vilamoura, Portugal (to 23)

Noren the man to beat as European Tour heads to Portugal

Sweden's In-form Alexander Noren will be hoping to back up last week's British Masters triumph with a strong showing in Portugal on the last regular season event before next month's Final Series. Briton Andy Sullivan is defending champion. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/ expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, 250 words)

RUGBY

Australia stand in New Zealand's path to greatness

New Zealand will attempt to go where no other top tier rugby nation has ever gone before with an 18th successive test victory when they meet neighbours Australia in Saturday's clash at their fortress Eden Park. (RUGBY-NEWZEALAND/ (PREVIEW), expect by 1000 GMT/6 AM ET, by Nick Mulvenney, 400 words)

We will also move a match factbox. (RUGBY-NEWZEALAND/ (FACTBOX)

Coetzee to brief media on coaching conference outcomes

CAPE TOWN - South Africa coach Allister Coetzee will give feedback at the conclusion of a two-day coaches conference in Cape Town that seeks to find a new direction for the development of the game in the country. (RUGBY UNION-SAFRICA/, expect by 1500 GMT/1100 AM ET, by Nick Said, 400 words)

TENNIS

World number one Kerber reflects on standout year

SINGAPORE - World number one Angelique Kerber discusses her breakout year as the German continues final preparations ahead of the WTA Finals in Singapore. (TENNIS-KERBER/ (TV), expect by 0900 GMT/5 AM ET, by Patrick Johnston, 500 words) (Asia desk editor: Peter Rutherford)