U.S. Markets close in 1 hr 17 mins

Stocks- U.S. Futures Flat Ahead of Corporate Earnings

U.S. Futures pointed to a flat opening bell on Wall Street.

Investing.com – U.S. futures were flat on Monday, as investors look ahead to earnings reports and central bank meetings this week.

The S&P 500 futures fell over one point or 0.06% to 2,815.75 as of 6:50 AM ET (10:50 GMT) while Dow futures inched up 11 points or 0.04% to 25,425.0. Meanwhile tech heavy Nasdaq 100 futures decreased 12 points or 0.17% to 7,289.0.

The Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC) meets on Tuesday and Wednesday, with a policy decision scheduled for Wednesday afternoon. Meanwhile the Bank of Japan ends its two-day meeting on Tuesday and the Bank of England is expected to make a policy decision on Thursday.

Earnings season continues in the last major week of corporate results, with Caterpillar (NYSE:CAT), AK Steel Holding Corporation (NYSE:AKS), Samsung Electronics (KS:005930) and others expected to report their financial results on Monday.

Waste manager Avalon Holdings Corporation (NYSE:AWX) was among the top gainers in pre-market trading, surging 95.122% while Fiat Chrysler Automobiles NV (NYSE:FCAU) gained 0.65% and Twitter Inc (NYSE:TWTR) rose 0.23%. AT&T (NYSE:T) was up 0.97% and semiconductor Tower International Inc (NYSE:TOWR) increased 1.285%.

Elsewhere Tesla (NASDAQ:TSLA) fell 0.68% while Microsoft (NASDAQ:MSFT) inched down 0.19% and social media app Snap Inc (NYSE:SNAP) slumped 1.40% and Cisco was down 0.49%.

On the data front, pending home sales is out at 10:00 AM ET (14:00 GMT), with the Dallas Fed’s manufacturing survey out at 10:30 AM ET (14:30 GMT).

In Europe stocks were down. Germany’s DAX fell 22 points or 0.18% while in France the CAC 40 decreased 15 points points or 0.28% and in London, the FTSE 100 was down 20 points or 0.27%. Meanwhile the pan-European Euro Stoxx 50 lost 13 points or 0.38% while Spain’s IBEX 35 inched down 32 points or 0.33%.

In commodities, gold futures fell 0.20% to $1,220.50 a troy ounce while crude oil futures surged 1.31% to $69.59 a barrel. The U.S. dollar index which measures the greenback against a basket of six major currencies, was down 0.17% to 94.31.

Related Articles

United Arab Emirates stocks higher at close of trade; DFM General up 0.81%

Air India seeks additional equity from government to pay vendors: source

Deutsche shifts chunk of euro clearing to Frankfurt from London