U.S. Markets closed

Stocks - U.S. Futures Flat as Earnings in Focus; White House Ends Sanctions Waiver

Investing.com - U.S. futures were flat on Tuesday as investors turned their attention to earnings and the U.S. ended its waiver on Iran sanctions.

Dow futures rose 15 points or 0.06% by 7:02 AM ET (11:02 GMT), while S&P 500 futures lost 2 points or 0.07% and the tech-heavy Nasdaq 100 futures was down 9 points or 0.1%.

Energy companies were higher in premarket trading after the White House confirmed it was ending waivers of its sanctions on Iran, a huge exporter of oil. Royal Dutch Shell (NYSE:RDSa) was up 0.4%, while Exxon Mobil (NYSE:XOM) inched up 0.1% and Chevron (NYSE:CVX) gained 0.1%.

Crude oil surged 0.7% to $65.99 a barrel after the news.

Meanwhile earnings are in full-focus, with Lockheed Martin (NYSE:LMT), Legacy Texas Financial Group (NASDAQ:LTXB), Six Flags (NYSE:SIX) and Snap Inc (NYSE:SNAP) expected later in the day.

Twitter Inc (NYSE:TWTR) surged 7% in premarket trade after reporting better-than-expected revenue and a surprise increase in the number of monthly active users.

Coca-Cola (NYSE:KO) gained 1.5% after its earnings for the first-quarter came in better than expected, while Hasbro (NASDAQ:HAS) jumped 5.5% after it beat forecasts.

Tesla (NASDAQ:TSLA) slumped 0.6% as investors were skeptical of CEO Elon Musk’s comments that the luxury car maker will have a fleet of driverless taxis next year.

On the data front, new home sales are out at 10:00 AM ET (14:00 GMT), while the house price index for February is expected at 9:00 AM ET (13:00 GMT).

In commodities, gold futures fell 0.2% to $1,274.85 a troy ounce, while the U.S. dollar index, which measures the greenback against a basket of six major currencies, was flat at 97.00.

Related Articles

NextEra Energy Earnings Beat, Revenue Misses In Q1

Lockheed Martin Earnings, Revenue Beat in Q1

Verizon Earnings Beat, Revenue Misses In Q1