U.S. Markets close in 1 hr 9 mins

Stocks - U.S. Futures Flat as Investors Look Ahead to Midterm Elections

U.S. futures pointed to a flat opening bell on Wall Street.

Investing.com - U.S. futures were flat on Monday, as investors remained cautious ahead of the upcoming midterm elections.

The S&P 500 futures rose 2 points or 0.10% to 2,727.0 as of 6:50 AM ET (10:50 GMT) while Dow futures were up 18 points, or 0.07%, to 25,259.0. Meanwhile tech heavy Nasdaq 100 futures increased 11 points, or 0.16%, to 6,991.50.

U.S. congressional midterm elections are on Tuesday, with opinion polls showing the Democratic Party could win control of the House of Representatives, while the Republican Party is likely to hold onto the Senate.

Hopes for an imminent trade agreement between Washington and Beijing faded after an economic advisor to U.S. President Donald Trump said late last week that there were no such plans in the works.

Berkshire Hathaway (NYSE:BRKa) was among the top gainers in premarket trading, surging 3.40% after its operating profit doubled in the third quarter. General Mills (NYSE:GIS) rose 0.78% while First Solar (NASDAQ:FSLR) was up 1.86%.

Elsewhere, Apple (NASDAQ:AAPL) slipped 0.76% while General Electric (NYSE:GE) lost 0.43% and Caterpillar (NYSE:CAT) decreased 0.23%.

On the data front, services PMI and ISM non-manufacturing figures are set for 9:45 AM ET (14:45 GMT) and 10:00 AM ET (15:00 GMT) respectively.

Earnings season continues, with Loews (NYSE:L), SeaWorld (NYSE:SEAS), Marriott (NASDAQ:MAR), Booking (NASDAQ:BKNG) and Mosaic Co (NYSE:MOS) set to report, among others.

In commodities, gold futures rose 0.21% to $1,233.50 a troy ounce while crude oil futures decreased 0.59% to $62.77 a barrel. The U.S. dollar index which measures the greenback against a basket of six major currencies, was flat at 96.55.

Related Articles

Goldman Sachs, mega-M&A purveyor, looks for smaller deals

Verizon to reorganize business segments

MarketPulse Europe: Investors Flee Italian Bank Stocks