U.S. Markets closed

Stocks- U.S. Futures Rally After Trump Tones Down Huawei Rhetoric

Investing.com - U.S. futures pointed to a higher opening on Wall Street on Friday after U.S. President Donald Trump toned down his attacks on Huawei.

Trump told reporters that if a trade deal was made with China, Huawei - which he still referred to as "very dangerous" - could be included in some form. The news eased fears among investors of a tech cold war between Washington and Beijing.

Dow futures rose 165 points or 0.7% by 6:52 AM ET (10:52 GMT), while tech-heavy Nasdaq 100 futures gained 42 points or 0.6% and S&P 500 futures was up 18 points or 0.6%.

Facebook (NASDAQ:FB) rose 0.8% after it said it removed 3.4 billion fake accounts, while Tesla (NASDAQ:TSLA) gained 3.2% and Qualcomm (NASDAQ:QCOM) inched up 0.1%, after losing 16% so far this week.

Amazon.com (NASDAQ:AMZN) was up 0.9% as it tried to lure Prime members to its one-day shipping service with warehouse reductions of up to 75%.

Elsewhere, Autodesk (NASDAQ:ADSK). fell 7.9%, while Foot Locker (NYSE:FL) fell as much as 10% after missing on first-quarter earnings, while software services company Splunk (NASDAQ:SPLK) fell 2.2% even after it posted better-than-expected results.

The economic calendar is sparse, with durable goods orders out at 8:30 AM ET (12:30 GMT).

In commodities, crude oil bounced 1.1% to $58.57 a barrel after losing 6% on Thursday, while gold futures fell 0.3% to $1,280.85 a troy ounce. The U.S. dollar index, which measures the greenback against a basket of six major currencies, was down 0.1% to 97.650.


Related Articles

EU regulators extend Vodafone, Liberty Global probe to July 23

Nestle still committed to global confectionery: CEO

India stocks higher at close of trade; Nifty 50 up 1.60%