U.S. Markets closed

Storm aid deadline looms in 16 W.Va. counties

CHARLESTON, W.Va. (AP) -- Workers in 16 West Virginia counties affected by a severe summer windstorm have less than a week to apply for federal benefits.

The deadline to file a claim for disaster unemployment assistance is Nov. 26.

The Department of Commerce says workers who were unemployed as a result of the June 29 storm could be eligible for the benefits.

The counties are: Boone, Cabell, Clay, Greenbrier, Jackson, Lincoln, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, Pocahontas, Roane, Tyler, Webster and Wood.