Not all wine is vegan-friendly.
This is because of the added fining agents used by producers which can contain non-vegan elements such as egg albumen (derived from egg whites), fish oil, and bone marrow, according to PETA.
The added agents used by producers are necessary for a wine's colour and clarity.
The good news for vegans is there are non-animal based fining agents such as silica gel or bentonite clay.
Supermarkets are trying to keep up by labelling vegan-friendly wines so that they are easy to spot. Vegans can also consult websites like Barnivore.com where they can search for their favourite wine and check if it is safe to drink or not.
Produced by Claudia Romeo
More From Business Insider